top of page
搜尋
  • 作家相片Yun-Chien

metal experiment

已更新:2021年6月14日


Instead of making work by hand, I also ask the factory to help cut the material, however fine pitch cannot be cut out completely, because the work may break, for this reason, draw out the thicker width for cutting.


In addition to professional factory cutting, I also tried to use aluminum sheets to cut out the shapes I wanted.


The thickness 0.2mm aluminum sheet was chosen because it is very light and thin, and it is also suitable for cutting at home. The only difficult thing is that I accidentally fold the aluminum sheet in the cutting process, so its surface is very uneven.


The overlapping shadows after cropping are also beautiful, which inspired me to think of light and shadow again.


I chose to leave the remaining cut pieces so that I can understand the positive and negative aspects of the work. Also, I can even adjust the proportion of the work through the size of the shadow.



my micro board link: https://miro.com/app/board/o9J_lJqcg-Q=/ In my board, you can find a Tainan map with red dots, the red dots are the places I have been to. In this experiment, I tried with wire again, but this time I followed the map I drew and used thin copper wire to go around the points I had visited. The winding of the iron wire also represented the possibility of my route, so a more abstract pattern was finally presented.


-Why use thin copper wire?

Because I need to wind complicatedly on a flat surface, and the last time I used lead wire, it was harder and not suitable for hand-folding compared with thin copper wire.


-How does it relate to the window grilles you observe?

From the window grilles I searched, most of the creative patterns are balance and repeated in a rectangle, and what attracts me most is the abstract expression, and the two bars of baseball and parrot give me great Inspire to get rid of neat frames. Through the continuous interleaving and connection of the dots to dots I have been to, I can also create my own way of expression.



Compared with the cross and inlaid wires one by one, I understood the benefits of one-piece molding from the previous experiment. Because it is relatively firmer, it is less likely to hang down because of the asymmetry of the picture.


-Is this pattern related to the map?

Yes, this pattern also uses the six red dots in the North district, Tainan to connect, but this time I use a single winding method to express instead of repetitive winding.

4 次查看0 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

Symposium 2

1. Through your work, what identity do you want to express? So as I said, I am doing something about Taiwanese culture piece, window grille, and the reason to do this is that I find that contemporary

Professional Practice

Slide 1 The factory I went to is still working with iron but they are not producing window grille anymore, because this skill takes time to learn, and the material and making price is much higher than

文章: Blog2_Post
bottom of page