top of page
搜尋
  • 作家相片Yun-Chien

grille (outdoor)


-What's the improvement from last time?

The outlook is alike to last time, however the biggest change is the pattern, I reduce the pattern amount to 9 of them and enlarge, because the 9 pronunciation in Mandarin has the same to long-term (長久的), which I hope the window grille culture can be retained.


-What's the size am I aiming to make?

There is no a limit of size for me because I am using isometric pattern to produce , and this experiment is following by the scale 992:1644 mm.


-What are these pictures trying to represent?

These photos were taken on the 14th and 15th floor. There are large decorations blocking the window (indoor) on the 15th floor, so there is no doubt about safety, however, the 14th floor is designed to prevent falling, so it is simply protected by an empty net-like iron frame.

This design also made me understand that it is not necessary to completely frame the window 1:1, and its shape can be freely designed.



-How do you feel about the out door shadow?

I love this reflection and shadow so much in this experiment, because It creates another positive and negative meaning. In the past few weeks, I thought that the covered part was the negative place, but this experiment gave me new discoveries.

At the same time, shadows and reflections present new pattern combinations. This is something that would not happen in research of traditional window grilles. It is a very special experiment for me.


In the city where I live, there are high-rise buildings. The new generation houses will not have window grilles on high floors. So instead of using iron window frames at home, I chose to use my design to frame the current appearance. and place it out door and consumed by nature.

1 次查看0 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

Symposium 2

1. Through your work, what identity do you want to express? So as I said, I am doing something about Taiwanese culture piece, window grille, and the reason to do this is that I find that contemporary

Professional Practice

Slide 1 The factory I went to is still working with iron but they are not producing window grille anymore, because this skill takes time to learn, and the material and making price is much higher than

文章: Blog2_Post
bottom of page