top of page
搜尋
  • 作家相片Yun-Chien

Building on Mid Point Review feedback

已更新:2021年8月17日


The places I have been to in Tainan City.


Please download your recordings, reflect and plan;

  • Please list all of the questions posed to you in the feedback. Please then group and analyse these; are there key areas you are being prompted to think about?

  • Please select a few questions you really want to respond to to lift your projects in these final stages. They may not be easy but you appreciate the value they will bring.

  • Please describe how you are going to respond to these (selected few) in your practice – this is expected to be a new course of action, not repeating or continuing previous plans but a really tangible idea of how to lift your project and practice through acting on these.

  • Lastly, how was your communication? Regarding the three questions does it seem like the audience got a good understanding of these? Were you to time?


Q: you want the object to be in daily life or the object in the gallery?

A: To be in daily life.

Q: if this is in a public space, dose it go temporarily or does it go for very long time?

A: yes, for long time.


Q:so if you want it to keep for long time, you might want to change to metal type.

A:Yes, I ordered an iron piece of window grill which can show the history timeline through the rusty experiment and also a stronger material to keep .

Q: Curious about the size of your work.

A: 46x28 cm and 100x85 cm

Q: what was the sort of longevity of it or what's his purpose?

A: the window grill is used for making a boundary and I believe my window grill design can stay forever unless someone tries to destroy it.


Q: Where do you imagine it to go and what was sort of sustainability criteria for that?

A: I am going to place it on the top floor of my apartment. Because the material I want to use, iron, is a relatively strong material, so I can keep it there. If I want to change the pattern later, I can ask the iron factory to recycle it and make it again. So I think iron is a good choice.


Q: have you thought about sort of moving away from the CNC for example to different materials? A: I was trying to find for the traditional making, however, through the conversation with a old window grill maker, he said that is no one learning and producing window grilles nowadays because the cost and the time is not worth to do. so I will keep making my work with CNC and stick with iron because I find iron is more solid than acrylic through my last experiment.



Q: thinking about copper for example, that it actually you've started playing with the materials how it changes over time or maybe even what is the effect of the sun on it?

A: At present, I am not observing the influence of the sun on the material. Instead, I am observing the changes in the iron due to rain, such as rust, color, and touch.

Through this rainy experiment, I feel that my work can be closer to reality, because most of the iron windows are eroded by rain, so they fade and rust.


Q: how this could potentially sort of map out into other cities?

A: I think it is possible. As long as I have visited that city and recorded the places I have been like now, I can create patterns of the same idea.


Q: how you view the city and therefore that becomes the portrait of the city?

A: I chose Tainan City as my shooting location because it is considered to be an earlier developed city in Taiwan, and most of the houses have been preserved, so I have a lot of resources to refer to.

Among them, through chatting with local people, I found that most of the residents’ bars were designed by iron workers and had no special meaning, so this also prompted me to search for information to create my own creations.


Q: Have you compiled, like the window grill in high nine with other states in Taiwan, or Hong Kong you like symbolize this window grill parties only belongs to this he said he but not the other or the rest of the world?

A: I have been to other cities and made fixed-point map records, but Tainan is the ancient capital that everyone calls it, so I even set it as a goal to create. Of course, the pictures I made belonged to Tainan City, because that was where I collected data, and when I went to other cities, I couldn’t make exactly the same works because every city I went to The fixed points are different, which also creates the uniqueness of the work.




0 次查看0 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

Symposium 2

1. Through your work, what identity do you want to express? So as I said, I am doing something about Taiwanese culture piece, window grille, and the reason to do this is that I find that contemporary

Professional Practice

Slide 1 The factory I went to is still working with iron but they are not producing window grille anymore, because this skill takes time to learn, and the material and making price is much higher than

文章: Blog2_Post
bottom of page